My “one week of twitter”

For my Public Relations class, we had to create a twitter account. Something I have heard about but had the totally wrong impression of, I definitely in a sense “judged” twitter so to speak. After using twitter, and “following” a few companies, and artists I found much interest in twitter and found it very beneficial. I’m not much of a television person, so by following ‘FOX news’ http://www.foxnews.com/index.html and ‘CNNs’ breaking news’ http://us.cnn.com/ twitter accounts, it definitely kept me up-to-date with what’s going on in the world. I have found a new respect for the news and for being more aware of what is going on in the world around us. It seems as if I’m so much more aware and informed about things.

I found twitter not only useful in the following of many companies, and even the NBA but also tweeting. It’s quite interesting actually the fact that you can post whatever you like, at any time you like. I tried not to write simple things no one would care to read like what you just ate for dinner, or what time you went to bed, but rather writing quotes, or interesting things I learned that day or something like that. Anyways, I found it very interestingf in quite a few aspects, and no longer fell a victim to the stereotypes individuals have created for the whole twitter thing. Many people would say to me, “Oh my gosh, you are doing that,” and would say things when I would refer to “following” and they would respond with “Oh, so your’e stalking.” lol I believe many will remain with that misconception until they actually try it.  So one lesson I learned from twitter, “Dont knock it till you try it.”

Twitter remains a growing phenomenon, and continues to florish in the business world. Many businesses are finding it very helpful with outstanding results as far as the numbers their “tweets” are reaching. Twitter continues to grow rapidly for businesses, and for everyday users, it’s said to be an online electronic journal in a sense. Pretty much for all eyes to see. I don’t know about you but I would definitely reccomend it to anyone who is interested in Journalism or column writing. I’m currently a Journalism/PR major and find it very helpful. So for all those who call it “stalkerish,” I beg to differ. Yes, in some cases Twitter can be used for evil just as any online program can be, but Twitter wasn’t designed for the purpose of writing what you’re doing and where you’re going every minute of every day, so you want to avoid “Twitter Stalkers,” than don’t post your every move! Come on people, be smarter than that.

P.S. I STILL HAVEN’T RECIEVED ANY COMMENTS, FEEDBACK, OR CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM, IT WOULD HELP MY FELLOW READERS. I COULD USE IT. Thanks!

